Who Comes Up With This?

I occasionally snack on a small bag of Lay’s potato chips just to fulfill an emptiness on my tummy midday or simply to satisfy a salty craving when consuming large amounts of cold water in the hot summer months.  About a month ago I went into an Exxon station or maybe it was a Shell gas station and grabbed out of the cooler the usual Fuji water and while walking down the snack isle my attention was drawn to the Lay’s chips display, particularly the green bag.  I’ve never had a chip of this flavor much less ever eaten Brazilian Picanha.  I pulled the bag off the display and marched up to the counter to pay with all quarters.  I was pleased with the flavor and vowed to try it again if I could find it.  It’s good!

img_20160907_164458502

A couple of weeks later while roaming the grocery store isles in search of time, I browsed the chip isle  in search of an item not related to this story.  Not real hungry for much, I needed some items for home and had already found most everything on my list.  There, on the shelf at eye level sat a Lay’s brand bag of chips called “biscuits and gravy”.  Mind you, it’s “Southern”.    Who comes up with this?

img_20160913_113942

Biscuits and gravy is a treat I eat maybe once per year when traveling.  We don’t eat this much or at all at home.  I traveled often as a teen with extended family and it was Denny’s in Indio, CA that was our stopping point to and from Yuma, AZ where we’d enjoy brunch.  It was biscuits and gravy every time.   I bought the bag of “Southern Biscuits and Gravy” and had not even gotten out of the parking lot before consuming half the bag.

There is a whole boatload of Lay’s flavors.  No, no, it’s called Lay’s Passport To Flavor.  You can hop over to the website to gain all the flavor information and contests.

What I’ve had so far:

Sour Cream & Onion

Barbecue

Cheddar & Sour Cream

Salt & Pepper

Flamin’ Hot

Limón

Chicken and Waffles

Cheesy Garlic Bread

New York Reuben

and my all time favorite, “Plain”!

4 thoughts on “Who Comes Up With This?

  1. I am wondering, was the Flamin’ Hot chip very very hot? Too hot for your mouth? I mistakenly ordered some Flamin’ Hot Cheetos once and I had to ask for my money back (I wanted plain) but I tried them and had to put them down the garbage disposal! My mouth was on fire for a week!

    • Hi Bex. Yeah, the Flamin’ Hot chip is pretty hot and I like hot. I don’t like anything crunchy that is hot because it is also irritating to the mouth. Thank you for the comment.

Leave a Reply

